Yiaga Africa faults Senate confirmation of two RECs

Yiaga Africa faults Senate confirmation of two RECs

by adminnigeriareports

The Executive Director, Yiaga Africa, Samson Itodo, has faulted the decision of the Senate to confirm the appointments of two out of the 10 Resident Electoral Commissioners whose names were sent by President Bola Tinubu.

Although he did not mention their names, he said the fact that they were confirmed despite the petitions against their nominations showed that the nation’s democracy is being run “without democrats.”

Itodo, who appeared on Channels Television’s programme, Sunrise Daily, stated that such action by the Senate implied that Nigeria’s democracy is run by individuals “who do not care about the people.”

Itodo said, “The Senate President refused to refer this matter to the relevant committee and they went ahead to confirm these people. There were petitions that were submitted against these people especially the two nominees that Nigerians have raised flags against while the public space is flooded with images and videos of these individuals.

“This is not too far, it was just 2019, less than four or six years down the line. These are individuals who are really out there and confessed their political preference and alignment and you went ahead and confirmed these people.”

He added, “What it just simply tells us is that we have got a democracy without democrats; we have a democracy with individuals who do not care about the people and do not care about our institutions.

“I think it’s heartbreaking. You see what happened in the Senate yesterday (Wednesday) and see how these guys are killing our institutions.”

He asked. “How can you explain to a Nigerian that this person was confirmed for a democratic institution that is supposed to serve as an umpire?”

Itodo added that the inability of the lawmakers who ought to checkmate the excesses of the executive arm is damaging to the nation’s democratic institutions.

The PUNCH reports that President Bola Tinubu, in a letter sent to the Senate, had asked for the confirmation of 10 new RECs for a term of five years, to serve in the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The President’s request was read by Akpabio, at plenary on Tuesday.

However, the Senate, on Wednesday, confirmed the appointment of seven of the 10 RECs, including  Etekarnba Umoren (Akwa Ibom State), Isah Ehimeakne (Edo State), Oluwatoyin Babalola (Ekiti State), Abubakar Ma’aji (Gombe State), Shehu Wahab (Kwara State), Aminu Idris (Nasarawa State) and Mohammed Sadiq (Niger State).

The three whose appointments were not confirmed due to nonappearance before the Senate were Dr. Bunmi Omoseyincemi (Lagos State), Dr. Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers State ) and Mr. Abubakar Dambo (Zamfara State).


                                                            VISIT OUR OTHER WEBSITES
Digital Skills Bank Nigeria Reports Hausa.Nigeria Reports
Opportunities Hub (OHUB) Digital Skills Clinic Technopreneur
Digi Top-UP Babangidaruma.com Collective Development 


You may also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy